流程图定义

什么是流程图 流程图的类型 流程图符号 如何画流程图 制作流程图的指导方针 流程图是用图形化的方式,表示一个流程如何工作,和展示序列步骤的图示。

什么是流程图

有几种流程图:最简单的有(高级流程图;详细流程图以及同时显示流程步骤和涉及的人员的流程图(或称为矩阵流程图)。

流程图模板

免费下载流程图软件并查看所有模板

流程图是可视化的一种方式,通过信息处理系统直观地展示信息,展示一个系统中的行为和序列。

流程图的意义

流程图是一个示意图,说明为获得一个问题的解决方案需执行的行为和操作顺序。通常在配置计算机解决方案的早期阶段,需要绘制流程图。流程图能促进程序员和业务人员之间的沟通。在问题的编程中流程图起到非常关键的作用,并在理解复杂和冗长问题的逻辑时非常有用。流程图一绘制好,用任何高级语言编写程序就相当容易了。我们经常看到流程图给人们解释程序的时候十分有帮助。因此可以说,流程图是更好地给复杂程序存档的必需品。

流程代表一系列满足特殊需要的逻辑操作行为。流程自然出现。流程可能没有规律,不固定或者充满问题。有一个团队调查了某个商务流程,发现了其中的不足。团队负责人的回复是此商业操作中没有流程。实际上,一个商业运营是不可能没有流程的。流程可能没有固定的形式,或者说调查者自身不能清晰感觉到流程的存在。

,或者图表是一个流程中的部分规则和通用部分的书面的图形化描述。图表有利于沟通和集中注意力,并提供流程整合参考。

可以从流程总是伴随着商务或交易这样的定义来理解流程图。但不是所有的流程都适合用流程图来表示。可以用流程图表示的流程有固定的套路,而且流程的关键环节不会时常变化。

什么时候要用流程图

问题

流程图有利于理清事情当前的工作原理,以及如何可以改善。它还能协助寻找流程中的关键要素,同时还清晰地绘制一个过程结束和另一个过程开始之间的界限。制作流程图能促进参与者之间的交流,还能促成关于流程的共识。

流程图还能帮助发现多余或者错位的步骤。此外,利用流程图还可以确定适合的团队成员,辨别谁提供输入或资源给谁,建立用于监控或收集数据的重要领域,辨认需要改进和增加效率的领域,以及得出关于导因的推测。流程图还可以用于检查病人,信息,资料,临床护理的流程,或者这些组合流程。建议通过小组讨论的方式制作流程图,因为个人难以了解整个流程,而且交流有助于提高。

流程图的类型

 

 

高级流程图

高级流程图(也叫一级或者自顶向下流程图)显示一个过程中的主要步骤。它呈现了一个流程的鸟瞰图。它可能也包括每个步骤(生产产品或者服务)的中间输出,和所涉及的子步骤。这种流程图提供了该流程的基本图像,并确定流程内部发生的变化。它对于找出合适的团队成员(参与此过程的人)以及监控进程十分有用,因为它专注于中间产出。

大多数流程用四五个形状就足够代表重要的步骤或者活动了。实际上,使用较少的形状是好的,因为这迫使设计者考虑哪些才是最重要的步骤。其它步骤通常是重要步骤的子步骤。

详细流程图

详细流程图用图形表示一个流程中所有的步骤和活动。这种流程图表示一个过程中的步骤或活动,包括决策点,等待时间和频繁需要重做的任务(工作),以及反馈回路。详细流程图在检查流程细节方面和寻找问题或低效领域时十分有用。如,病人登记的详细流程图显示,当记录员和临床人员不能协助客户时导致的延误。

部署或矩阵流程图

一张部署流程图从谁负责某个步骤的角度映射出流程。它以矩阵的形状,展示不同的参与者和这些参与者的步骤流向。它主要是在确认谁向谁提供输入或服务,确认哪些地方不同的人可能不需要做同样的任务时发挥作用。

应该使用哪一种流程图

每种流程图都有优点和缺点。高级流程图是最好制作的但是可能在某些情况下缺乏一些细节。当选择流程图类型时,团队应该清楚绘制流程图的目的。以下的表格:满足不同目的的流程图种类给你提供一些指导。但是你如果还不确定用哪一种,从高级流程图开始,逐渐转向详细的和部署流程图。注意,制作详细和部署流程图会很耗时。

绘制流程图的指导原则

通常使用标准的符号绘制流程图;但是需要时也可以使用特殊的符号。以下列出了一些绘制流程图常需要的标准符号。

怎样画流程图

一套有用的标准流程图符号

并非严格要求使用这些方框,圆圈,菱形或其它标准的符号来制作一个流程图,但是标准符号确实能更清晰地展示事件的类别。以下是大多数情况常用的一组标准符号。

  1. 圆角矩形—代表自动产生的事件。此类事件会引发后续行为,比如接到来电,或者描述一个新事态。
  2. 矩形或方形—代表流程中控制的事件。通常这是一个发生的步骤或行为。在大多数流程图中,这是最常用的符号。
  3. 菱形—代表流程中的决策点。这种符号的描述一般为“是”或“否”回应,据此,流程各自分支走向流程图的不同部分。
  4. 圆圈—代表流程图和另外一个过程的连接点。另外一个流程的名称或指称应该写在此符号中。

请参考以下图片。点击图片进入流程图符号介绍页面了解更多详细信息。

标准流程图符号

制作流程图提示

先尝试画一张草图,之后进行改进。采用五分钟法则:不能五分钟过去了还没添加一个符号或者方框。如果不确定用哪一个符号,用云符号或进行标记,然后继续。

为了思路展开时避免反复擦除和删除,先提前把形状放到表中。这样可以轻松修改,移动形状的同时对过程分类。

当流程中的工作人员作出决策影响流程进展时,判定符号适用。比如,当决策的结果为“是”,工作人员将实行一系列步骤,当判定为“否”时,他将实行另一系列行动。要确保判定符号有“是”和“否'的文本,如此流程才符合逻辑。

在决定流程图的详细程度时(比如,每个步骤如何拆分),根据流程图的目的做决定。比如:要更好地理解为何需要长时间等候,只需要将那些对等候时间有影响的步骤进行详细拆分描述。不影响等候时间的步骤则不需要太多详细信息。

流程图可以不包括所有类型的符号。如,流程图不涉及等候时间时就不需要等待的符号。

分析详细流程图确认问题领域

在流程图画好后,展示流程实际上如何工作时,用以下的一种或几种技巧找出潜在的问题领域或者提高空间。

检查每个判定符号:一切是否顺利进行?活动是否有效?此行为是否冗余?

检查每一个代表重复进行工作的回路:这个重做回路能阻止问题出现吗?正在进行的修复是在初始问题出现之后很久才执行的吗?

检查每个活动符号:这个步骤 是否多余?它能给产品或服务增值吗?它是否有问题?这个活动能避免错误发生吗?

检查每个文件或数据库符号:这有必要吗?它是最新的吗?信息的来源是唯一的吗?这些信息能否用于监控和改善流程?

检查每个等待符号:这个等待会引起什么复杂性或额外的问题?等待需要多久?等候时间可以缩短吗?

每次当一个人员完成其步骤之后,另外一个人员接手时,检查转交:相关人员是谁?会有何错误?中介产品或服务能满足此流程中下一个人的需要吗?

检查整体流程:流程是否符合逻辑。是否有模糊的区域导致过程中断?是否有平行的轨道?如果有,是否合理?

请在此了解流程图软件

打造最强大的综合图形图表设计软件!

亿图图示专家是一款综合图形图表制作软件,它包含丰富的实例和模版,帮助您轻松创建流程图、网络拓扑图、组织结构图、商业图表、工程图,思维导图、软件设计图和平面布局图等。亿图采用更智能和人性化的绘制方式,包括丰富的图形模板库和特色实例库,最大程度帮助设计者降低工作量,更快捷阐述设计思想,提升创作灵感。

Top

Flow Chart Definition

A flowchart is a graphic representation of how a process works, showing, at a minimum, the sequence of steps.

What is Flowchart

Several types of flowcharts exist: the most simple (high level, a detailed version (detailed, and one that also indicates the people involved in the steps (or matrix).

Free Download Flowchart Software and View All Examples

free download50 MB

The flowchart is a means to visually present the flow of data through an information processing systems, the operations performed within the system and the sequence in which they are performed. In this lesson, we shall concern ourselves with the program flowchart, which describes what operations (and in what sequence) are required to solve a given problem. The program flowchart can be likened to the blueprint of a building. As we know, a designer draws a blueprint before starting to construct a building. Similarly, a programmer prefers to draw a flowchart prior to writing a computer program. As in the case of the drawing of a blueprint, the flowchart is drawn according to defined rules and using standard flowchart symbols prescribed by the American National Standard Institute, Inc.

Meaning of a Flow Chart

A flowchart is a diagrammatic representation that illustrates the sequence of operations to be performed to get the solution of a problem. Flowcharts are generally drawn in the early stages of formulating computer solutions. Flowcharts facilitate communication between programmers and business people. These flowcharts play a vital role in the programming of a problem and are quite helpful in understanding the logic of complicated and lengthy problems. Once the flowchart is drawn, it becomes easy to write the program in any high level language. Often we see how flowcharts are helpful in explaining the program to others. Hence, it is correct to say that a flowchart is a must for the better documentation of a complex program.

Flow is a representation of a series of logic operations to satisfy specific requirements. A flow exists naturally. It can be irregular, unfixed or full of problems. For this reason, it may apparently be absent in some situations. Lately, members of a team were assigned to investigate the flow of a business process, and I was told that there were some deficiencies in the flow. The reply from the person who was in charge of the team was that no flow was shown in part of the business process. As a matter of fact, it is impossible for a business carried out without a flow. It may be a flow in an unfixed form, or, may be the person himself whom you investigated does not have a clear sense about the flow.

Chart, or diagram, is a presentation or a written description of some regular and common parts of the flow. A chart is conducive to communication and concentration and offers references for process reengineering.

Flow chart can be seen from the definition that a flow accompanies always with business or transaction. Not all of the flows, however, are appropriate to be expressed by flowcharts. Flows that can be expressed by charts follow some fixed routines, and the key links of flows won't be changed constantly.

When to Use Flow Chart

question

A flowchart helps to clarify how things are currently working and how they could be improved. It also assists in finding the key elements of a process, while drawing clear lines between where one process ends and the next one starts. Developing a flowchart stimulates communication among participants and establishes a common understanding about the process.

Flowcharts also uncover steps that are redundant or misplaced. In addition, flowcharts are used to identify appropriate team members, to identify who provides inputs or resources to whom, to establish important areas for monitoring or data collection, to identify areas for improvement or increased efficiency, and to generate hypotheses about causes. Flowcharts can be used to examine processes for the flow of patients, information, materials, clinical care, or combinations of these processes. It is recommended that flowcharts be created through group discussion, as individuals rarely know the entire process and the communication contributes to improvement.

Types of flowcharts

High-Level Flowchart

A high-level (also called first-level or top-down) flowchart shows the major steps in a process. It illustrates a "birds-eye view" of a process, such as the example in the figure entitled High-Level Flowchart of Prenatal Care. It can also include the intermediate outputs of each step (the product or service produced), and the sub-steps involved. Such a flowchart offers a basic picture of the process and identifies the changes taking place within the process. It is significantly useful for identifying appropriate team members (those who are involved in the process) and for developing indicators for monitoring the process because of its focus on intermediate outputs.

Most processes can be adequately portrayed in four or five boxes that represent the major steps or activities of the process. In fact, it is a good idea to use only a few boxes, because doing so forces one to consider the most important steps. Other steps are usually sub-steps of the more important ones.

Detailed Flowchart

The detailed flowchart provides a detailed picture of a process by mapping all of the steps and activities that occur in the process. This type of flowchart indicates the steps or activities of a process and includes such things as decision points, waiting periods, tasks that frequently must be redone (rework), and feedback loops. This type of flowchart is useful for examining areas of the process in detail and for looking for problems or areas of inefficiency. For example, the Detailed Flowchart of Patient Registration reveals the delays that result when the record clerk and clinical officer are not available to assist clients.

Deployment or Matrix Flowchart

A deployment flowchart maps out the process in terms of who is doing the steps. It is in the form of a matrix, showing the various participants and the flow of steps among these participants. It is chiefly useful in identifying who is providing inputs or services to whom, as well as areas where different people may be needlessly doing the same task. See the Deployment of Matrix Flowchart.

More Flowchart Types

Which Flowchart Should be Used

Each type of flowchart has its strengths and weaknesses; the high-level flowchart is the easiest to construct but may not provide sufficient detail for some purposes. In choosing which type to use, the group should be clear on their purpose for flowcharting. The table below entitled "Type of Flowchart Indicated for Various Purposes" gives some indications, but if you're unsure which to use, start with the high-level one and move on to detailed and deployment. Note that the detailed and deployment flowcharts are time-consuming.

Guideline for drawing a flowchart

Flowcharts are usually drawn using some standard symbols; however, some special symbols can also be developed when required. Some standard symbols, which are frequently required for flowcharting many computer programs are shown.

How to Draw a Flowchart

Make Great-looking Flowcharts in Excel

A Set of Useful Standard Flowchart Symbols

It is not strictly necessary to use boxes, circles, diamonds or other such symbols to construct a flowchart, but these do help to describe the types of events in the chart more clearly. Described below are a set of standard symbols which are applicable to most situations without being overly complex.

  1. Rounded box - use it to represent an event which occurs automatically. Such an event will trigger a subsequent action, for example `receive telephone call', or describe a new state of affairs.
  2. Rectangle or box - use it to represent an event which is controlled within the process. Typically this will be a step or action which is taken. In most flowcharts this will be the most frequently used symbol.
  3. Diamond - use it to represent a decision point in the process. Typically, the statement in the symbol will require a `yes' or `no' response and branch to different parts of the flowchart accordingly.
  4. Circle - use it to represent a point at which the flowchart connects with another process. The name or reference for the other process should appear within the symbol.

Standard Flowchart Symbols

Hints for Constructing Flowcharts

Try to develop a first draft in one sitting, going back later to make refinements. Use the "five-minute rule": do not let five minutes go by without putting up a symbol or box; if the decision of which symbol or box should be used is unclear, use a cloud symbol or a note and move on.

To avoid having to erase and cross out as ideas develop, cut out shapes for the various symbols beforehand and place them on the table. This way, changes can easily be made by moving things around while the group clarifies the process.

Decision symbols are appropriate when those working in the process make a decision that will affect how the process will proceed. For example, when the outcome of the decision or question is YES, the person would follow one set of steps, and if the outcome is NO, the person would do another set of steps. Be sure the text in the decision symbol would generate a YES or NO response, so that the flow of the diagram is logical.

In deciding how much detail to put in the flowchart (i.e., how much to break down each general step), remember the purpose of the flowchart. For example, a flowchart to better understand the problem of long waiting times would need to break down in detail only those steps that could have an effect on waiting times. Steps that do not affect waiting times can be left without much detail.

Keep in mind that a flowchart may not need to include all the possible symbols. For example, the wait symbol ( ) may not be needed if the flowchart is not related to waiting times.

Improving the layout of a flowchart

Create a complex flowchart

Analyzing the Detailed Flowchart to Identify Problem Areas

Once the flowchart has been constructed to represent how the process actually works, examine potential problem areas or areas for improvement using one or more of the following techniques.

Examine each decision symbol: Does it represent an activity to see if everything is going well? Is it effective? Is it redundant?

Examine each loop that indicates work being redone (rework): Does this rework loop prevent the problem from recurring? Are repairs being made long after the step where the errors originally occurred?

Examine each activity symbol: Is this step redundant? Does it add value to the product or service? Is it problematic? Could errors be prevented in this activity?

Examine each document or database symbol: Is this necessary? Is it up to date? Is there a single source for the information? Could this information be used for monitoring and improving the process?

Examine each wait symbol: What complexities or additional problems does this wait cause? How long is the wait? Could it be reduced?

Examine each transition where one person finishes his or her part of the process and another person picks it up: Who is involved? What could go wrong? Is the intermediate product or service meeting the needs of the next person in the process?

Examine the overall process: Is the flow logical? Are there fuzzy areas or places where the process leads off to nowhere? Are there parallel tracks? Is there a rationale for those?

See Flowchart Software

edraw max

FREE DOWNLOAD

Get Started! You Will Love This Easy-To-Use Diagram Software.

Edraw Max is perfect not only for professional-looking flowcharts, organizational charts, mind maps, but also network diagrams, floor plans, workflows, fashion designs, UML diagrams, electrical diagrams, science illustration, charts and graphs... and that is just the beginning!